2018 – 2019 Programme of Events

2018-19 Programme of Events & Meetings

All meetings start at 7.30pm, unless specified below.

Guests are welcome to attend any meetings, strictly by prior arrangement with either the President or Secretary, at a fee of £5. Visitors are limited to attending a maximum of 2 meetings per syllabus year (excluding auctions and competitions) at which point we would encourage them to join our magic society as full members. Membership applications can be made here

2018

Tuesday 10th April 2018

The Helen Moran Memorial Lecture:

Carl Royle – “How I Feed My Children More”

A Welcome Return to Carl Royle with his Brand New Lecture on Close Up & Cabaret Magic.

More Information

Tuesday 24th April 2018

Club Night

Our club nights are a relaxed opportunity to discuss all aspects of magic with fellow magicians, ask for advice or simply show us your latest tricks, and learn some new techniques.

What did you learn at Carl’s Lecture? If you didn’t make it to the lecture, don’t worry – bring along your latest trick, and have a magical time.

Tuesday 8th May 2018

Lecture: Chris Rawlins

Chris Rawlins Manchester Magic and Memory Lecture Order of The Magi May 2018

Chris Rawlins presents his brand new lecture on Memory & Mentalism.

More Information

 

Tuesday 22nd May 2018

Giant Magic Auction

More Details

Tuesday 12th June 2018

Andrew Normansell Lecture

(Visiting Magicians – £5 entry)

More information coming soon

Tuesday 26th June 2018

Paul Roberts Lecture

Image and details coming soon

 

Tuesday 10th July

Close-Up Competition

(Open Night) Please bring along as many family and friends as possible. It makes things a lot easier when our members are performing for real people, not just not their fellow magicians.

Find Out More…

Tuesday 24th July

Club Night

Join us in the public bar (downstairs) at The Irish World Heritage Centre for an informal night of tricks, discussion and laughs.

Got a new trick you’d like to share, or a question about a recent lecture or competition routine? Our informal club nights are just as educational and entertaining as our more structured events, and definitely worth showing up for!

The first person to perform “Card on Ceiling” buys the beers!

Tuesday 14th August 2018

Adrian Sullivan’s President’s Lecture

Tuesday 28th August 2018

Club Night

 

A chance to continue celebrating the Bank Holiday Weekend with a little magic. Shorts and Silly Shirts are not compulsory!

Tuesday 11th September 2018

Recess

 

 

 

Tuesday 25th September 2018

Steve Bellerby Lecture

 

 

Tuesday 9th October 2018

Andrew Normansell Dealer Dem

Andrew returns to the Magi with something new!

 

Tuesday 23rd October 2018

Cabaret & Comedy Competition (Open Night)

Join us as members of the Magi battle it out in a Cabaret setting for one of two prestigious trophies.

Tuesday 6th November 2018

The Grumbleweeds Comedy Lecture

The kings of Comedy – The Grumbleweeds – will be visiting Manchester to teach everything they know about putting laughter into your magic act. Please note that this meeting is being held on the first Tuesday of the month – not the usual 2nd Tuesday. More details and ticket to be announced soon.



 

Tuesday 27th November 2018

To Be Announced

 

 

Tuesday 11th December 2018

Seasonal / Holiday Magic

No 2nd Meeting in December!

 

2019

Tuesday 8th January 2019

 

TBC

 

Tuesday 22nd January 2019

TBC

Tuesday 12th February 2019

TBC

Details coming soon

 

Tuesday 26th February 2019

TBC

 

Tuesday 12th March 2019

TBC

 

 

Tuesday 26th March 2019

AGM

Your chance to discuss the plans for the forthcoming year of The Order of The Magi, vote for the committee members, and of course welcome our new President. (Membership Subs are also due!)

Membership

 

Lecturers, Events & Activities

 

 

Please note that, unless marked (Open Night), all meetings are for Magi members only. Visiting magicians are welcome at these events by prior arrangement. £5 admission. Please contact the Secretary for further information.